Skip to content

Albert Camus

September 18, 2013

I can hear them already: ‘He killed himself because he could not bear to . . .’ Oh, my good friend, how feeble is the imagination of men. They always think that people commit suicide for a reason. But one can very well commit suicide for two reasons. No, that idea doesn’t enter their heads. So what’s the use of dying voluntarily and sacrificing oneself to the idea that you want to give of yourself? Once you’re dead, they’ll take the opportunity to assign idiotic or vulgar motives to your action. My dear friend, martyrs should choose to be forgotten, mocked, or exploited. As for being understood, never.

~Albert Camus, “The Fall”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 11:12 PM

    This is my favorite book by Camus.

    • September 18, 2013 11:17 PM

      I have only read “The Outsider” and “The Fall.” But I can only say that I’m gonna order all of Camus’ books and devour each bit of them. They portray so lucidly each of human psychology so lucidly. Thanks for the visit to my blog and comment thereon. Who knows, may I visit your nation and wish to meet you once…alas…!!!

Leave a Reply

